Scientific Advisory Body


The Scientific Advisory Body


  • Stéphane Martin, President of the Public Institution of the musée du quai Branly - Jacques Chirac

Ex officio members

  • Alain Fuchs, General Director of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (National Centre of Scientific Research)
  • Gilles Boeuf, President of the Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle (National Museum of Natural History)
  • Pierre-Cyrille Hautcoeur, President of the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales
  • Bruno Saunier, Deputy Policy Director of Musées de France

Three university presidents appointed by decree of the Ministry of National Education, Higher Education and Research and the Ministry of Culture and Communication on May 5 2014: 

  • Jean-François Balaudé, President of the Paris West University Nanterre-La-Défense
  • Emmanuel Ethis, President of the University of Avignon and the Vaucluse
  • Anne Fraïsse, President of the Paul Valéry University of Montpellier - III 
  • Frédéric Keck, Director of the Research and Education Department
  • Yves Le Fur, Director of the Heritage and Collections Department 
  • Emmanuel Kasarhérou, Assistant Director of the Heritage and Collections Department, Head of the Scientific Coordination of Collections
  • Lucile Grand, Assistant Director, Head of the Media Library

Five qualified specialists, from France or abroad, appointed for a renewable term of three years, by joint decree of the ministries of higher education, research and culture on October 14 2014:

  • Clémentine Deliss, Director of the Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt
  • Sophie Houdart, Ethnologist, Research Head at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (National Centre of Scientific Research)
  • Elise Patole-Edoumba, Heritage Curator, Director of the Muséum de la Rochelle
  • Alain Schnapp, Archaeologist, Lecturer at Pantheon-Sorbonne University (Paris I) - Panthéon-Sorbonne
  • Nicholas Thomas, Anthropologist, Director of the Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, University of Cambridge 

Attending sessions in an advisory capacity

  • Jérôme Bastianelli, Deputy Managing Director

Attending meetings of the Scientific Advisory Board in an advisory capacity, any person whose presence is regarded as useful to ensure clarity in discussions:

  • Serge Gruzinski, Director of Studies at EHESS