board of scientific direction

The Board of Scientific Direction gives its opinion and produces proposals on the cultural and scientific culture of the establishment, as well as on the programming of events. Notably:

  • it submits a multi-year research program proposition to the Board of Directors
  • it submits a proposal of scientific and cultural projects to the President that appear to justify the establishment's support
  • it contributes to developing relationships between the establishment and French and foreign scientific groups
  • it gives an opinion on collaborative research projects with other organizations
  • it evaluates the scientific activities of the establishment, referring to the evaluations of the ministry responsible for research and the national center for scientific research (CNRS)
  • it gives an opinion on multi-year research projects and the annual activity reports of the organization and the affiliated research units
  • it gives an opinion on the applications for the scientific direction of the establishment of the affiliated research units.

The Board of Scientific Direction can create one or more committees composed of scientists of its choice to follow-up research

President :

Mr. Stéphane MARTIN, President of the public organization of the musée du quai Branly

ex-officio members:

Mr. Alain FUCHS, President of the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)
Mr. Gilles BOEUF, President of the National Museum of Natural History
Mr. Pierre-Cyrille HAUTCOEUR, President of the Ecole des hautes etudes in sciences sociales (EHESS)
Mr. Bruno SAUNIER, Deputy Director of the policy of the museums of France 

three university presidents appointed by joint administrative decision of the ministers responsible for higher education, research, and culture:

Jean-François Balaudé, President of Université Paris Ouest-Nanterre-La-Défense

Emmanuel Ethis, President of Université d’Avignon et des Pays du Vaucluse

Anne Fraïsse, President of Université Paul Valéry-Montpellier - III

musée du quai Branly :

Yves Le Fur, Director of the Heritage and Collections Department  

Frédéric Keck, Director of the Research and Education Department  

Emmanuel Kasarhérou, Deputy Director of the Heritage and Collections Department, responsible for the scientific coordination of collections

Anne Faure, Deputy Director, responsible for the Media Library  

Five certified French or foreign persons*:

Clémentine Deliss, Director of the Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt

Sophie Houdart, Ethnologist, Head of Research at the Centre national de la recherche scientifique

Elise Patole-Edoumba, Heritage curator, Director of the Muséum de la Rochelle

Alain Schnapp, archaeologist, professor at theUniversité Paris I  - Panthéon-Sorbonne

Nicholas Thomas, anthropologist, Director of the Archaeology and Anthropology Museum of the University of Cambridge 

 * named for a duration of three years, renewable, by joint administrative decision of the ministers responsible for higher education, research, and culture

Attends the meetings in a consultative capacity

Karim Mouttalib, Deputy General Director