Changer de langue :

26 November

globetrotters

For their first time alone visiting the museum without their parents, children embark for trip around the world with 12 stops : Australia, Congo, Mexico, Vietnam... Each trip takes them at the heart of the art, myths and living arts of a group of peoples.

 

  

  • 6 years and up
  • length : 1h30
  • tariff : 6 €
  • language : French

2010-2011 Fall Winter calendar

Human Kwele Mask © musée du quai Branly photo Sandrine Expilly

AT THE HEART OF THE MASKS

Globetrotters in Congo

Globetrotters study shapes and colours of Kwele masks, listen to an initiation story and shape their own protective object.

calendar 

  • Saturday 14th May 2011 2:30 p.m.  
  • Wednesday 1st June 2011 2:30 p.m.  

other toy © musée du quai Branly photo Jacques Rostand

THE OTHER TOY

Globetrotters in the Himalayas

Globetrotters learn about traditional games and stories. Globally responsible, they show their solidarity by bringing a toy to the museum to be donated to a refugee camp by UNHCR and Aviation Sans Frontières.

calendar

  • Wednesday 13th April 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Sunday 15th May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday 8th June 2011 2:30 p.m.

boomerang © musée du quai Branly photo Thierry Ollivier, Michel Urtado

boomerang

globetrotters in Australia

Globetrotters listen to a creation myth, study objects and learn to throw the boomerang.

calendar

  • Thursday 14th April 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday 18th May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Sunday 29th May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Saturday 11th June 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Sunday 19th June 2011 2:30 p.m.

Mexico © musée du quai Branly photo Pomme Célarié

PRE COLOMBIAN CALENDAR

Globetrotters in Aztec times

Globetrotters study the legend of the quetzalcoatl, analyze Mexican glyphs and create their own visual agenda.

calendar

  • Friday 15th April 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Saturday 21st May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday 15th June 2011 2:30 p.m.

cape © musée du quai Branly photo Patrick Gries, Valérie Torre

SIOUX DANCING

Globetrotters in the Great Plains

Globetrotters listen to legend of the White Bison, look at body language on the North American Aboriginal peoples and reinvent the famous bison dance.

calendar

  • Saturday 16th April 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday 25th May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Sunday 12th June 2011 2:30 p.m.

Manasa © musée du quai Branly photo Patrick Gries, Bruno Descoings

INDIAN DANCING

Globetrotters in the Bengal

Globetrotters analyze the movements of the snake goddess, listen to her legend, and make a few steps in a codified body language.

calendar

  • Wednesday 27th April 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Saturday 28th May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Saturday 18th June 2011 2:30 p.m.

vest © musée du quai Branly photo Patrick Gries

TEXTILE HISTORY

globetrotters in the Tonkin

Globetrotters look at costumes, study the customs of Viet Nam and tell their personal story on fabric.

calendar

  • Saturday 30th April 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Sunday 22nd May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday 22nd June 2011 2:30 p.m.

Heaven and Earth © musée du quai Branly photo Jacques Rostand

PAINTING THE DREAM

globetrotters in the land of Arnhem

Globetrotters discover the art of Aboriginal Australians and the myths that give them meaning, and then paint their own dream.

calendar

  • Wednesday 4th May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday 29th June 2011 2:30 p.m.

sounds © musée du quai Branly photo Pomme Célarié

BANTU RYTHMS

globetrotters in Central Africa

Globetrotters look at instruments, listen to creation myth, and work on their musical ear.

calendar 

  • Saturday 7th May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Sunday 8th May 2011 2:30 p.m.
  • Saturday 2nd July 2011 2:30 p.m.

tat-tow © musée du quai Branly photo Jacques Rostand

tat-tow

globetrotters in the Marquesas Islands

Globetrotters look at tattooing tools, listen to a creation myth and leave with a temporary tattoo.

calendar

  • Wednesday 11th May 2011 2:30 p.m.

Booking your ticket

TICKET OFFICE

  • by phone

01 56 61 71 72 (Monday to Friday 10th a.m. to 4:30 p.m.)

  • online

Buy your ticket online at the FNAC website

  • ticket office

Please note that same day ticket purchase is subject to availability, and advance booking is highly recommended. See museum and ticket office opening hours

groups

workshops available to groups every day Tuesday to Friday

note :all globetrotter workshop destinations are not available for groups, inquire at 01 56 61 71 72

see workshop tariffs and general conditions for group visits

School groups, see the teachers and students brochure (pdf - 820 Kb)

DISABLED VISITORS

inquire with the reservation service 01 56 61 71 72 or send an email to accessibilite.reservation(at)quaibranly.fr